“Gogumabap”: Sweet Potato Rice — A Recipe by Maangchi

sweetpotato-rice-mixing-590x379_maangchi

This is Maangchi’s picture of Gogumabap from off of her blog.

Recently I had a taste for sweet potatoes but, then again, I always have a taste for sweet potatoes. My lovely, lovely sweet potatoes. I have been following Maangchi on Youtube for a few months now. I’ve watched her videos on Yangnyeom Tongdak or Korean fried chicken (here), Jjajangmyeon or Black Bean Noodles (here), Hoddeoks or sweet pancakes (here— this is the first recipe i tried of hers I will do a review on these ones as well), Korean Kimchi (here) and many more. She probably is the only person on Youtube I will watch for Korean recipes. Her more recent videos have really great quality and she is really good at interacting with her watchers and followers on her Youtube channel and on her blog (Maangchi’s blog). The only problem I have with her videos and/or recipes is that the ingredients needed for them are virtually impossible to find in any Asian food market near where I live and just about everything she cooks requires something in a brand that can only be shipped from Korea! But if you live near a nice Asian Market, I envy you and making these recipes should be easy. The recipes that I have tried are very good, though some of them are very extensive and require a lot of preparation but the ones that I am reviewing do not.

Maangchi’s reason for making the gogumabap was, in my opinion, honorable. In the beginning of her video she mentioned wanting to make food that was healthy and easily prepared to help an organization that deals with malnutrition kids with a Vitamin A deficiency, which is something that sweet potatoes are very rich in. I would totally do this so to Maangchi I say, you go Glenn Coco!

Moving on, Sweet Potato Rice! Nom Nom Nom! I never would’ve thought of mixing sweet potatoes and rice to make a dish. So props to you, Maangchi! Making this recipe was very easy for me and the ingredients needed for them were easily found at my local grocery store. If I were to grade this recipe, ‘A’ being the best and ‘F’ being the worst, I would most definitely give this an A. It’s vegetarian, it’s delicious and it’s easy to make. My mom just asked me to make more (this will be my fourth or fifth time in the last couple of months) so I would say that we really like it.

I did not follow this recipe to the T. I did what I call health-itizing the recipe which calls for me using only low sodium and all natural ingredients and it will taste just as good as I’d imagine the original recipe tastes. I would like to point out that I am in no way going over the directions for cooking gogumabap. I am simply showing what I did when trying the recipe and showing the healthy/natural alternative for some of the ingredients. But if you want cooking and time measurements go here for the recipe on her blog. Here we go:

Ingredients for the base: Sweet potatoes and brown rice. Ingredients for the sauce: honey, green onions or Asian chives, soy sauce, vinegar, garlic and toasted sesame seeds.

Ingredients_sagedandconfused

ingredients2_sagedandconfused

I doubled the recipe so I used twice as much as she did in her video. (But for the sauce I sort of went with my gut, because using 4 tablespoons of vinegar just seemed like to much—So, I used three). For the base there are almost four sweet potatoes (3 ½, depending on size. Mine were large.) and a doubled amount of rice:100_2645

The steps that go into making the recipe are very simple—it all boils down to chopping and mixing. First, cube the sweet potatoes:

dicedgoguma_sagedandconfused

Then, cook the rice. When making the rice portion of gogumabap it’s a little different because I use brown rice instead of white rice and it takes longer to cook brown rice than it does white. So after rinsing it multiple times like Maangchi suggests, I have to half-cook the brown rice (and I do this instead of letting them soak for a half an hour like she does in the video). You cook them until the grains are soft on the outside but still hard toward the center. This way they can finish cooking with the sweet potatoes.

There are two ways that I know of for cooking brown rice and I will let it be known that in no way am I an expert at this.

howtocookbrownrice

These are my ways of cooking brown rice, and so far nobody’s teeth have fallen out due to undercooked rice. So, yay me! Alas, I can’t take all of the credit because the first way I got from my mom. But, if you are going to boil the water first I suggest you start the boiling before you shave and chop the sweet potatoes this way you can add the rice and start the cooking process after the sweet potatoes are cut. Now, onto the soy sauce mixture.

Combine the ingredients that I mentioned earlier:

–    Honey, Asian Chives, Garlic, Soy Sauce, Vinegar, Hot Pepper Flakes and Toasted Sesame Seeds

I didn’t use hot pepper flakes because I have a three-year-old sister and was afraid it might be to spicy for her little underdeveloped taste buds :). On Maangchi’s blog she mentions you being able to use either green onions or regular chives if you don’t have Asian chives, which I didn’t so I tried making the sauce two different ways: with chives and freshly minced garlic and with green onions and jarred minced garlic which you can see the picture of in the ingredient in the beginning of this post.

chivesandgarlic_sagedandconfused

withchives_sagedandconfused

And this is the sauce with green onions and jarred minced garlic:

greenonions_sagedandconfused

And it turned out like this:

withgreenonions_sagedandconfused

Both versions were good so you can try either one. Also you can interchange these two to make fresh garlic and green onions and/or jarred minced garlic and chives. After you’re finished, transfer to serving bowl or plate and eat up!

endproduct_sagedandconfused

There are multiple ways that you can eat Gogumabap. Here’s one:

withboiledeggs_sagedandconfused

With a boiled egg, cherry tomatoes, cucumbers and an avocado.

Or you can eat it with out soy sauce and with goat cheese instead which is my personal favorite. I get my goat cheese from my local Trader Joes and it comes in the shape of a cylinder.

 Overall: charliesangelsyummy_sagedandconfused

If there are any other recipes that you would like me to try or make healthy comment! Also, if you decide to try this recipe, please tell me how it went.

Questions? Comment! And if you breathe, comment! I say it’s just a good idea to comment! *:o)

— sagedandconfused

Leave a Reply

