Watching Them Eat Chocolate Chip Pancakes With Blueberries

SAM_1410

I don’t know if you guys know this but, I don’t like blueberries. There is a long story behind the reason why, but all that matters is that at the end of the day I can’t eat fresh blueberries. Yes, fresh blueberries. I know it’s weird, but I find them disgusting. They taste like medicine. I can eat them frozen (like in a smoothie), I can even stomach them baked (sometimes). But I cannot eat a fresh blueberry. They’re gross. The reason I bring this up is because, everybody else in my family loves them. They can eat them on anything sweet, and I just don’t understand this nonsense. Take the other day, for example. They put them on chocolate chip pancakes.

 

SAM_1414

Who needs blueberries when there are chocolate chips? I can understand strawberries, bananas, or even raspberries (which I love) but blueberries are just a bit much in my personal opinion. Maybe that’s because I find them disgusting. I had the very same thing for breakfast, by the way, and it was still very good without the blueberries.

SAM_1416

I don’t know if down the line I’ll like blueberries. It wouldn’t be completely unheard of for me because there was a time when I didn’t like avocados, cream of wheat, or mushrooms as well. Either for their smell, texture, or both. But now I can stomach avocados, but only sometimes; and I can handle cream of wheat but only a little. And the only time I can stand mushrooms is when they are on a pizza, and even then I have to take off the big pieces. There’s actually a list of foods I don’t like or have to be cooked a certain way or can’t eat too much of with getting nauseous. My sister actually says I don’t like “food” but that’s impossible because I eat all the time and enjoy it. So, there. I would go into that now, but I am going to have to save that one for a rainy day because I know just how badly you guys want to hear about it.

SAM_1418

What foods don’t you guys like as much as I don’t like blueberries (among other things)? Tell me in the comment section below! Until later. Sage Out.

9 thoughts on “Watching Them Eat Chocolate Chip Pancakes With Blueberries

  1. I have been working to like olives and mushrooms for years! I like the big green olives now and mushrooms sometimes 🙂 Ironic, since I’m a feeding therapist, but I’ve always thought these picky eating habits/sensory issues help me understand the kids I work with!

    Like

    • You know, it’s funny, I actually like olives but my kid sister hates them. She calls them ‘olos’ and picks them out of her food. But if you include them in a dish, and she doesn’t see them it a whole different story because she’ll actually eat them, and enjoy it. But, your a feeding therapist? That’s really cool. 🙂 What does that profession involve?

      Like

      • It’s amazing how we can learn how to like foods a little at a time! I’m a speech pathologist and provide feeding and swallowing therapy through that certification. Check out my blog learntolovefood.com! It’s focused on activities for picky eaters, so more the sensory side of feeding issues. There are some other great resources on the site on the Other Resources page, too 🙂

        Like

      • I visited your blog and I must say, I love the idea of playing food games and doing food art! My favorite one, I think was the Board game one because it was so clever. But I also really enjoyed “Making a funny face” and “Building a Rainbow”. 😀

        Like

      • Haha! You would think the question would be easier to answer because you make a living based on liking to eat. But, no, it is actually, generally, a very hard question and I didn’t realize it until now. My bad. But you answered very well, because I think that is generally why everybody likes about food: the look (you won’t eat food that looks nasty), the smell (same goes for smell), and the taste (because nobody eats food they think is nasty twice, including Andrew Zimmern.) Speaking of which, do you like to watch television shows around food? Like Chef shows or shows like Bizarre Foods? Or is that just too much?

        Like

Leave a Reply

